A Broken Type of Blue

Poems Revisited Series #1

A Broken Type of Blue

I broke up with my boyfriend

Just the other day

Because I don’t love him anymore.

And then I found myself very lonely and blue.

So I painted each of my nails blue,

But it didn’t help me any, really.

I still feel the pain;

I’m sick, you see,

So I took some medicine

To hopefully heal my throbbing head,

Ears, throat, and heart.

So far it hasn’t worked,

And I’ve lost my voice.

I’ve lost my voice,

And I’m not sure what to say

To anyone, really.

I just know

Who I would be saying things to

If I had the opportunity.

But I don’t have the opportunity,

And I cannot speak

To the boy who used to make me smile

At the sound of his voice,

Slight sigh, or shuffling about

On the other end of the line.

So I cannot speak

To the boy who is written between the lines

And in the margins of my notes,

Near hearts, in my heart,

And mingling with scribbled flowers,

And dancing among curlicues of sorts.

This boy

Is whom I would speak to

If I had the opportunity

To tell him how sad and lonely and blue

My nails and I really are.

But I can’t and I won’t because

I broke up with my boyfriend

Just the other day

Because I didn’t love him anymore.

IMG_20131115_213021

Love,

Ochwoman

Leave a Reply

