Listen Up You, My Fabric Softener

Poems Revisited Series #3

I washed you out of my sheets today.

I laid down last night, and all I could smell was you,

Hugging me, speaking my name,

Sending me that smile that you smile so well.

And I couldn’t bear to smell you anymore,

To feel you here

When I know you are not here,

That you cannot be here

Anymore.

My fabric was softer with a bit of you in them.

I’m afraid it will be rough forever from now on

Without you.

It hurts to wash the good memories of you away

When there were no bad ones to go away with them

In the first place.

And so I will sleep, hopefully

And try not to think of you,

Hopefully.

The music will ring in my ears.

Covered in Rain

And Always Love,

Swim and swimming in a sea

With you,

But I will try not to think of you,

Hopefully.

You say nothing to me anymore,

So hopefully I will stop hearing your voice

Whispering in the trees

And in little children’s toys

Of six sides and six colors.

I wonder,

Will I stop hearing your voice

Around corners and bends,

Around me everywhere?

Hopefully.

So listen, you,

I washed you out of my sheets today,

And I sort of wish I hadn’t.

IMG_20131115_213021

Love,

Ochwoman

Leave a Reply

