The Real Truth

Poems Revisited Series #4

I said I washed you out of my sheets that day.

But I lied.

I most definitely lied.

I’d only thought of doing so, you see.

I thought of how I’d feel,

And I thought I really knew.

The truth is,

I didn’t know at all.

The real truth is that

I washed you out of my sheets today.

And I didn’t feel a thing.

I threw the sheets and comforter in,

A blanket and a quilt.

You didn’t scream.

You didn’t fight.

You just went in

With the dust and dirt,

To be washed away and forgotten.

A clumsy mess one night,

I dropped pizza on my sheets.

You told me the next morning,

Showed me the next morning.

A red blotch of a stain.

I remember it well.

And yet,

As I went to scrub away the stain,

It wasn’t there.

It was gone;

Nonexistent,

Unexisting.

Did it exist?

Did we ever exist?

Did it matter at all

Or was it just another graceless child

Making a trivial mark

Upon a piece of fabric in time?

I swear, I promise, I know

I will always remember,

But

I washed you out of my sheets today.

And I didn’t feel a thing.

IMG_20131115_213021

Love,

Ochwoman

Leave a Reply

