On the Shore (Day 4)

On the shore
I waited,
Waves licking at my feet,
Reminding me that one day soon
You and I might meet.

On the shore
You waited,
Toes digging in the sand,
Wriggling, wiggling deeper ‘til
You’d one day hold my hand.

On the shore
I waited,
Fog rising high between,
Growing white and blinding,
I scanned the solemn scene.

On the shore
You waited,
With blinded eyes and bated breath,
Failing to find me
In the fog that marked Our death.

On the shore,
We waited,
Hoping from the fog we’d wake;
But waiting for the fog to clear,
We witnessed Our love break.

So I shout into the fog,
“Forevermore?”
And I wait
On the shore.

And you shout into the fog,
“Forevermore!”
And you wait
On the shore.

We do not dive into the fog,
For forevermore
We’ll wait.
We’ll wait
On the shore.
We’ll wait
On the shore.

IMG_20131115_213021

Love,

Ochwoman

April is National Poetry Month! For the month, I’ll be posting an original poem each day. Today’s poem features a focus on metaphor. Rather than writing specifically about love or spring or anger, find a metaphor to represent it. Feel free to send me any metaphor poems you’ve created, and I may feature them on my blog!

Join the #PoemADay challenge on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

