Homeless, Honey (Day 11)

My mother gave me eight dollars.
Eight dollars to buy lunch, she said.
She said I look lost.
I look lost because I am lost; I am alone, without a home.
Without a home, I guess I am homeless, wandering around a strange world.
A strange world can only be so friendly
To a wandering, wondering girl like me.
A wandering, wondering girl like me would never tell her mother she is homeless.
Tell her mother she is homeless! The librarian says.
The librarian says this to my friend John because I fall asleep
Every night in the study room that she is stationed in, and she watches me.
She watches me today, as I pull a crumpled five, three ones, & a clump of lint out of my pocket.
Out of my pocket comes the only home I know, and I cling to it.
I cling to it for now, knowing this eight dollars will at least buy me lunch.
At least buy me lunch? I’d asked my mother before leaving home, and so
My mother gave me eight dollars.

IMG_20131115_213021

Love,

Ochwoman

April is National Poetry Month! For the month, I’ll be posting an original poem each day. Today’s poem features a free verse poem, which plays on the idea of repetition. The end of one line starts the next. Feel free to send me free verse poems or playful repetition pieces you write, and I may feature them on my blog!

Join the #PoemADay challenge on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

